Friday Favorites – Teacher Discounts

Hey y’all! Well, my week of rest is winding down. I’ve had to do some more school shopping (getting that morning basket ready!) and pay from some upcoming field trips. This got me to thinking about saving money with discounts available to us homeschooling folks. There are already some stores and places I know of, and have been able to, thankfully, use my homeschool ID card to get the teacher discount. But there were more places that accept our status. After doing some digging, here is what I found.

Stores

Barnes & Noble

A.C. Moore

Michael’s

JoAnn fabric store

Books-a-Million

Half Price Books

Staples

Bookmans (in Arizona)

Goodwill stores (the amount of the discount as well as days they honor the discount will vary between stores, just ask the cashier for specifics)

 

In addition to stores, there are attractions that offer homeschool admission discounts.

Within North Carolina

North Carolina Aquariums

Old Salem

North Carolina Zoological Park

Great Wolf Lodge

The Annual Carolina Renaissance Festival

Battleship North Carolina

Discovery Place Charlotte (discounted membership)

Biltmore Estate

Hill Ridge Farms (Homeschool Fall Festival October 2nd)

Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University (there aren’t specific homeschool discounts, but everyone gets in free on Thursdays)

Aurora Fossil Museum (I can’t specific pricing info, but I had never heard of this place and wanted to share because it looks interesting)

Outside of North Carolina

Colonial Williamsburg

Jamestown Settlement & Yorktown Victory Center

Ripley’s Aquarium

Wonderworks

Six Flags

Kennedy Space Center (Google returned results for homeschool days but the site itself was not working)

Busch Gardens *This is another one that is worth calling about as I can’t find anything that specifically states homeschool day.*

Fort Menedez at Old Florida Museum

Florida Museum Homeschool Day: Butterfly Rainforest *There are plenty of other homeschool day events here! Looks awesome!*

Legoland Florida

Disney Youth Programs *This is in no way cheap, but if you have the means, these programs look like amazing opportunities.*

 

If you are here in North Carolina, or planning a visit (it’s a beautiful state! jus’ sayin’ 😉 ), I’ve compiled another list of field trip ideas over here.

While doing this research I also found a couple of other websites that offered field trip ideas:

Field Trips of North Carolina from Homeschoolbuyersco-op.org

Homeschooling in North Carolina: Field Trips from The Homeschool Mom

 

Are there other stores or places to visit that I missed? Leave me a comment letting me know and I’ll add it to my list! 

Thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites – Teacher Discounts

  1. Tanya,
    Kristen took their kids to the Aurora Fossil Museum last weekend and they loved it. Found lots of sharks teeth while sifting for fossils. Ask her about it, they also took a free ferry ride over that way that was fun.
    Jill

Leave a comment